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Georgia	Distracted	Driver	Bill	–	HB	637	
“Hands-Free	Georgia	Act”	

	
	
SUMMARY	
Drivers	cannot	physically	touch	their	phones	while	driving.	Bluetooth	and	hands-free	phone	actions	
are	allowed.		Drivers	can	look	at	the	GPS	devices	but	cannot	maneuver	them	while	driving.	The	first	
fine	is	$50.00.	
	
REGULATIONS	FOR	DRIVERS	&	DEVICE	COMMUNICATION	
This	bill	mandates	that	a	driver	cannot:	

• Physically	hold	or	support,	with	any	part	of	their	body,	a	wireless	telecommunication	device	
or	stand-alone	electronic	device.		

• Write,	send,	or	read	any	text-based	communication,	unless	it	is	a	navigation	device	or	voice-
based	text	that	is	converted	to	a	written	message.	

• Watch	a	video	or	movie	on	a	device	other	than	navigation	data.	
• Record	or	broadcast	 on	 a	device,	 except	 those	devices	 that	 record	 continuously	 inside	or	

outside	the	vehicle.	
• Engage	in	any	action	that	will	distract	the	driver.	

Commercial	drivers	cannot:	
• Use	more	than	a	single	button	on	a	wireless	communication	device	to	initiate	or	terminate	

voice	communication.	
• Reach	for	a	wireless	telecommunication	or	stand-alone	electronic	device	that	would	render	

the	driver	out	of	a	seated	driving	position	or	improperly	restrained	by	a	safety	belt.	
	
PUNISHMENTS	
Each	violation	is	a	separate	offense	resulting	in	a	misdemeanor.		

• A	first	conviction	results	in	a	maximum	$50.00	fine.	
• A	second	conviction	within	24-months	results	in	a	maximum	fine	of	$100.00.	
• A	third	conviction	within	24-months	results	in	a	maximum	fine	of	$150.00.	

Anyone	appearing	in	court	for	the	first	conviction	will	not	be	found	guilty	if	they	bring	to	court	a	
device	or	proof	of	purchase	of	a	device	 that	would	allow	them	to	comply	with	regulations	 in	 the	
future.	This	clemency	is	only	offered	once.		
	
EXCEPTIONS	
The	physical	handling	of	a	phone	is	allowed	only:	

• To	 report	 a	 traffic	 accident,	 medical	 emergency,	 fire,	 an	 actual	 or	 potential	 criminal	 or	
delinquent	act,	or	road	condition	which	causes	immediate	or	serious	traffic	or	safety	hazard.		

• By	a	utility	service	employee	or	contractor	while	acting	within	in	the	scope	of	their	job	for	a	
utility	emergency.	

• By	a	law	enforcement	officer,	firefighter,	emergency	medical	service	personnel,	ambulance	
driver,	or	public	safety	first	responder.	

• While	a	vehicle	is	lawfully	parked.	
	
	
	
	
This	legislation	goes	into	effect	on	July	1,	2018.		


